Research for the Networked Society

About the Weizenbaum Institute

News

Research Areas

  • The digitalisation of economic processes is accompanied by fundamental changes that affect the relationships between and strategies of enterprises, working conditions and employment, as well as innovation processes. In our research, we explore the future of work, potentials for inclusive social innovation processes and both economic and societal implications of the sharing economy.

    read more
    read more
  • The self-determined individual possesses the freedom to make decisions, through which she binds herself contractually, assumes moral responsibility for her own actions and disclosures personal data. However, interconnectedness and algorithmisation are changing the framework of this self-determination. The resulting societal effects are examined in an interdisciplinary approach that includes legal, moral and economic perspectives.

    read more
    read more
  • Digital technologies and the Internet are placing fundamentally new demands on education. Therefore, it is the aim of our research to investigate which knowledge and which competences will be necessary for people in a digital world in the future within the framework of a digital education.

    read more
    read more
  • This research topic investigates how participation processes in contemporary democracies change fundamentally under the influence of digital technologies and what influence digitalisation has on public opinion formation and discourses.

    read more
    read more
  • The networked society is characterised by profound changes in societal processes of coordination, regulation and legislation. Our research groups investigate how the conditions, forms and subjects of these processes are reconfigured as a result of the digital transformation.

    read more
    read more
  • Digital networking is the term we use to describe the continuous and continual linking of the physical world with the digital world. This linking process underlies many very different concepts. How this complex process should take place in different areas in coordination between society, politics, manufacturers and operators is the subject of our research work.

    read more
    read more

Highlight

Thursday, May 16 2019 12:00 PM

REGISTER NOW: Weizenbaum Conference 2019

The conference will take place in Berlin on Thursday, 16 May and Friday, 17 May 2019 on the topic of “Challenges of Digital Inequality: Digital Education, Digital Work, Digital Life”. Tickets are still available.

read more

Events

The Weizenbaum Institute is a collaborative project of the following partners

Logos

The Institute

Forschung für die vernetzte Gesellschaft

Über das Weizenbaum-Institut

Aktuelles

Forschungsthemen

  • Mit der Digitalisierung ökonomischer Prozesse gehen fundamentale Veränderungen einher, die sich auf Wertschöpfungsstrukturen, Arbeits- und Beschäftigungsverhältnisse sowie Innovationsprozesse auswirken. Im Rahmen unserer Forschungstätigkeit widmen wir uns der Zukunft der Arbeit, Ansätzen zu beteiligungsorientierter sozialer Innovation und den Auswirkungen der Sharing-Economy auf Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema
  • Das selbstbestimmte Individuum besitzt die Freiheit, Entscheidungen zu treffen, durch die es sich vertraglich bindet, moralisch verantwortlich für seine Handlungen ist und Daten preisgibt. Vernetzung und Algorithmisierung verändern jedoch die Rahmenbedingungen dieser Selbstbestimmung. Die sich daraus ergebenden gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen werden in rechtlicher, moralischer und wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht interdisziplinär beleuchtet.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema
  • Digitale Technologien und das Internet stellen grundlegend neue Anforderungen an die Bildung. Daher ist es Ziel unserer Forschung zu untersuchen, welches Wissen und welche Kompetenzen im Rahmen einer digitalen Bildung zukünftig für Menschen in einer digitalen Welt nötig sind.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema
  • Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsthemas wird untersucht, wie sich Partizipationsprozesse in Gegenwartsdemokratien unter dem Einfluss digitaler Technologien fundamental wandeln und welchen Einfluss die Digitalisierung auf die öffentliche Meinungsbildung und Diskurse hat.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema
  • In der vernetzten Gesellschaft beobachten wir einen tiefgreifenden Wandel sozialer Koordinierungs-, Steuerungs- und Rechtsetzungsprozesse. Unsere Forschungsgruppen untersuchen, wie sich deren Bedingungen, Formen und Gegenstände im Zuge der digitalen Transformation verändern.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema
  • Wir bezeichnen mit digitaler Vernetzung die Verknüpfung der physischen mit der digitalen Welt. Dieser Prozess bedeutet die digitale Erfassung, Abbildung und Modellierung der physischen Welt sowie die Vernetzung der daraus entstehenden Informationen. Wie dieser komplexe Prozess in unterschiedlichen Bereichen in Abstimmung zwischen Gesellschaft, Politik, Herstellern und Betreibern erfolgen sollte, ist Gegenstand unserer Forschungsarbeit.

    Zum Forschungsthema
    Zum Forschungsthema

Highlight

22.05.2019
Bericht

Impressionen von der Weizenbaum Conference 2019

Am 16. und 17. Mai 2019 diskutierten rund 200 Teilnehmende auf der zweiten Weizenbaum Conference "Challenges of Digital Inequality. Digital Education | Digital Work | Digital Life” in Berlin über die Herausforderungen, Treiber und Auswirkungen von Ungleichheit im digitalen Zeitalter aus.

Weiterlesen

Veranstaltungen

Das Weizenbaum-Institut ist ein Verbundprojekt folgender Partner

Logos

Das Institut